Babysitting Blog: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly Days

When spending time with children, there is a consistent mix-up of good and bad moments. People tend to go through a wide array of emotions throughout the day but adults are better at controlling them than kids are. This capability comes with experience, practice, and time. When children throw tantrums or overreact, your reaction sets the example for what they should do in a similar scenario. This being said, you can’t always get it right. Every day is a learning experience and a chance to grow.

Today proved to be one of those days where such learning experiences were provided generously. My seven year old niece, Kenzie, normally would have been in school from 8am-2:45pm but today she participated in a spelling bee. As soon as it was over, she came home. From the look on her face, I could tell things had not gone as well as she had hoped. Turns out she got eighth place out of thirty, which I thought was pretty good. Still, reassurance was not enough. Ice cream, tickle fights, and a funny movie were in order. This proved to appease her as well as her younger sister, Hannah, but the peaceful moment did not last long.

Soon the rambunctious duo were up and about, running, shouting, and laughing. No doubt this was a reaction to the sugar overload they had just been hit with. We played for some time before I had to leave and work on a class project with a friend. I set them up with some apple slices, drinks, and a movie before heading out with the promise to return. It took a few hours to get everything with the project wrapped up but as soon as I was able to, I came back to see my girls. The pair were playing contentedly with their grandmother. I decided to get some more homework done while they were occupied.

As I typed away at the keyboard, the girls set up a “pet shop” in which they had trapped their two cats, Fred and Daisy, under laundry baskets. I pretended to purchase the cats and promptly set them free. Hannah declared her desire to pretend to be a pet in the shop. She asked me to retrieve one of her pet toys from the other room and, as I set off on this task, I reminded them not to get into the laundry baskets. Upon return, I found that they had ignored my request. I reminded them that those particular laundry baskets had harmful cracks on their sides. Kenzie claimed I had never asked them not to get in the baskets. This led to a, “yes, I did,” “no, you didn’t!” conversation. I sent Kenzie to time out where she wrote me a letter. Her method of delivery was admirable. She folded the letter like an airplane and flew it to me before returning to her room.

It went a little something like this: 10997192_452135164938631_6257257731785414522_n

I wasn’t sure whether to be offended or laugh but I didn’t have much time to decide. Just as I finished reading the letter, Kenzie rushed out of her room, dressed for cold weather. She packed a lunch box with crackers, grapes, and a full water bottle then informed me that she was running away. I told her I’d just have to run away with her and so together we ventured to the end of her street and back. At one point, Kenzie stopped and ate some of her snacks, claiming that she would live in that spot from then on out. What changed her mind was the sight of both her parents’ vehicles coming down the road. We rushed back home together. Kenzie was dragging her lunch box and scooter on her sled the whole time, which I found to be enduringly humorous. The walk had calmed us both down and with a fist bump and a smile, the world was right again.

Soon after our return, I learned about the recent death of Leonard Nimoy, also known as Spock. Kenzie’s parents had brought home pizza and a movie for family night. While they spent quality time together, I enjoyed having a bit of time to myself. I wanted to do something to honor Spock and settled on making a commemorative portrait of him. Sketching is not my strongest suit but the overall process was relaxing. Kenzie checked on me at one point and asked what I was doing. When she saw my sketch, she decided to share one of her own with me. I asked her what inspired her to make such a beautiful piece of art. She smiled, shrugged and pointed at a few words on her artwork that read, “hands in.” She said she made it for everyone. I hugged her and told her how proud I am of her. Every day I try to teach her something new but on days when I’m doing it right, she always ends up teaching me something too.

11019010_452135061605308_2397815967529087060_n10403361_452135054938642_6731163031401214722_n

Stay tuned for the next adventure! Live long and prosper.

One thought on “Babysitting Blog: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly Days

Leave a comment